Drought Busters 101

Planned Grazing: A Study Guide and Reference ManualThis is where my wife and I will be spending my birthday on the 29th of December. Chris and Laura are fun people and gracious hosts.

A Handbook for Ranch ManagersThe Circle has a great model–they only run cattle in the winter and the cattle belong to other people who are generally very happy with a 2.0 lbs/hd average daily gain on dormant vegetation. — jtl

circle_ranch_drough_busters_101

“Drought Busters” is an inexpensive, quick, physiologically and economically sustainable method of habitat and wildlife restoration. We call it Drought Busters because it increases effective rainfall by rebuilding soil fertility and the soil’s ability to absorb and store water. This 21-minute video explains Drought Busters, and our experience on how wild and domestic animals, Keyline sub-soiling, and water harvesting can restore desertified grasslands.

 

Drought Busters 101 from Christopher Gill on Vimeo.

This video was filmed in the Sierra Diablo Mountains, Hudspeth County, far-West Texas, for presentation at the Quivira Coalition Conference in Albuquerque, on November 12, 2015.

Photography, script, and narration by Christopher Gill

Laura and I wish to acknowledge the following individuals and organizations for their help and friendship. Their areas of expertise and contact data follow:

Evidencio Seijas, Foreman, Circle Ranch: Linda_lopez432@yahoo.com
Allan Savory, Savory Institute: asavory@savory.global
Courtney White, Quivira Coalition: executive@quiviracoalition.org
Bill Zeedyk, Water Harvesting: wlknmypath@aol.com
Abe Collins, Keyline Consulting: abenewsoil@gmail.com
Ken Yeomans, Keyline Consulting: yeomans@keyline.com.au
Fred Porter, Keyline Bulldozing: go4goats@ktc.com
Gary Fuentes, NRCS: gary.fuentes@tx.usda.gov
Steve Nelle, Rangeland Consultation: steve.nelle@tx.usda.gov
Noah Small, Yeomans Plow Sales and Service: noahharlan@yahoo.com
Ann Adams, Holistic Management International: anna@holisticmanagement.org
Richard Teague, Range Science: r-teague@tamu.edu
Jim Howell, Rangeland Consultation: jhowell@savoryinstitute.com
Guy Glosson, Rangeland and Cattle Consultation: glosson@caprock-spur.com
Dale Rollins, Wildlife and Quail Consultation: d-rollins@tamu.edu
David Theodoropolous, Habitat Advice: dt@dtheo.org
Holistic Management International (HMI): hmi@holisticmanagement.org
The Quivira Coalition: admin@quiviracoalition.org
The Savory Institute: contact@savoryinstitute.orgNational Resource Conservation Service (NRCS)The Yeomans Plow Company: aj@yeomansplow.com.auLorie Woodward Cantu, Script editing: lwcantu@suddenlink.net

Environmental & Natural Resource Economics: The Austrian View Combat Shooter's Handbook Reconnaissance Marine MCI 03.32f: Marine Corps Institute The Betrayed: On Warriors, Cowboys and Other Misfits

The Essence of Liberty: Volume I: Liberty and History: The Rise and Fall of the Noble Experiment with Constitutionally Limited Government (Liberty and ... Limited Government) (Volume 1)  The Essence of Liberty: Volume II: The Economics of Liberty (Volume 2) The Essence of Liberty: Volume III: A Universal Philosophy of Political Economy (Liberty: A Universal Political Ethic) (Volume 3)

FOLLOW FLYOVER PRESS ON FACEBOOK

Check out our WebSite

Check out our e-Store

Planned Grazing: A Study Guide and Reference ManualPlanned Grazing: A Study Guide and Reference Manual. This is the ideal squeal to A Handbook for Ranch Managers.  Although the ecological principles remain the same, what was originally known as “The Savory Grazing Method” now answers to a multitude of different names: ranching for profit, holistic management, managed grazing, mob grazing, management intensive grazing, etc. Land & Livestock International, Inc. uses “Restoration Grazing” under its “Managing the Ranch as a Business” program.” No mater what you call it, this summary and synopsis will guide you step by step through the process and teach you how to use it as it was originally intended. No more excuses for failing to complete your grazing plans.

Advertisements

About Land & Livestock Interntional, Inc.

Land and Livestock International, Inc. is a leading agribusiness management firm providing a complete line of services to the range livestock industry. We believe that private property is the foundation of America. Private property and free markets go hand in hand—without property there is no freedom. We also believe that free markets, not government intervention, hold the key to natural resource conservation and environmental preservation. No government bureaucrat can (or will) understand and treat the land with as much respect as its owner. The bureaucrat simply does not have the same motives as does the owner of a capital interest in the property. Our specialty is the working livestock ranch simply because there are so many very good reasons for owning such a property. We provide educational, management and consulting services with a focus on ecologically and financially sustainable land management that will enhance natural processes (water and mineral cycles, energy flow and community dynamics) while enhancing profits and steadily building wealth.
This entry was posted in Planned Grazing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s